Skip to main content

Return to the Top

Women’s lacrosse caps one-loss season with eighth national title.

The women's lacrosse team cheers and holds up their National Champions trophy.
Image: John Joyner/NCAA Photos via Getty Images

Fall 2023

It had been 11 years since Northwestern women’s lacrosse won the NCAA Championship, but in late May the Wildcats returned to the top of the sport, defeating Boston College 18-6 for the program’s eighth title in 18 years.  

The Wildcats were led by Izzy Scane ’22, ’23 CERT, who scored 18 goals in the NCAA Tournament and earned most outstanding player honors. One of the sport’s all-time greats, Scane scored a Northwestern record 99 goals during the season. She was named the Tewaaraton Trophy winner, an honor bestowed on the nation’s top player in men’s and women’s lacrosse. Scane, the fourth Wildcat to win the Tewaaraton, became Northwestern’s all-time leading scorer (288 goals) with her goal in the fourth period of the championship game.  

Head coach Kelly Amonte Hiller, who joined the program in 2001, is now tied with former Northwestern coach Cindy Timchal, now at Navy, for the most championships in collegiate women’s lacrosse history.   

In addition to Scane, four other Wildcats were named to the all-tournament team: Erin Coykendall ’23, Molly Laliberty ’23 CERT, junior Sammy White and sophomore Madison Taylor 

The Wildcats (21-1) won 21 consecutive games after losing the season opener to Syracuse. Northwestern, the Big Ten regular season champs, also won the Big Ten Tournament for the third time in program history. 

Share this Northwestern story with your friends via...

Reader Responses

No one has commented on this page yet.

Submit a Response